Prized Possessions

Standard

A prized possession can be anywhere from a pair of shoes to a great grandmother’s vintage necklace. My most prized possession is a ring that my mom gave me for as a graduation present. I cannot explain how excited I was when she gave it to me. The reason the ring is so important to me is not just because it was a graduation present from my mom. There is a story behind it. The ring is a diamond ring and the main diamond on it is from my moms wedding ring that my step dad gave to her. My step dad and my mom married when I was about a year and a half old. When I was about twelve years old they decided to get a divorce. The divorce tore me apart and I was incredibly hurt by it because my step dad played a huge role in my life as a father figure for about 11 years. My mom and him promised that the divorce would not change him and I’s relationship and we stayed close and had dinner quite often. Not long after the divorce my step dad told me he had been diagnosed with pancreatic cancer and did not have long to live. Once again, I was completely heartbroken. Luckily, Tom fought hard and he kept living. When I was of age to work for him, at 15, I hosted at the Mexican restaurant him and my mom had previously owned together. He used to take me home after work and we would go to a different Mexican restaurant and eat so we could test out the competition while also having our daily talks about our favorite college basketball team (the Jayhawks). When I turned sixteen in June, Tom gave me my most favorite birthday present ever. It was a KU lanyard and a KU license plate cover. I loved it so much. That August, Tom lost the battle to pancreatic cancer and I was crushed.. Actually not a day goes by that I still don’t feel the pain. Luckily, I feel as though he is with me daily because of the ring that I never take off. Instead of my mom keeping the diamond and wearing it, she figured it would be best if I wore it so she put the big diamond on a different ring setting and gave it to me for graduation. It was the best gift I had ever received and I will cherish it for the rest of my life.

71655d3305e36422e5785571d071ba1f

315363_10150944064800825_101631172_n

About Daily Inspiration

My name is Alexandra Mortallaro but most people call me Alex. I'm from Kansas City, Missouri and I have the greatest family on earth. I'm a sophomore at the University of Northwest Missouri State University. The only organization I'm involved in currently is Phi Mu and I have absolutely loved every minute of it since I joined! My major is Political Science and my minor is Criminal Justice. I'm a firm believer in following your dreams and doing whatever you put your mind to. One of my dreams after finishing my undergrad is to score outrageously high on the LSAT and get accepted into a great law school somewhere in Los Angeles. After that my dreams are infinte and you'd laugh at me if you heard them! In my spare time, when i'm not hanging out with friends or family, you can usually find me on pinterest or twitter. My favorite topic to search on Pinterest is quotes because it can be extremely uplifting at times when you need it most which is why I chose to write my blog on Inspiration. I truly deem inspirational quotes one of the best ways to get yourself out of a "funk" and back into doing what you love. If I can make at least one person's day by doing something so simple as posting something inspirational then hey I must be doing something right!

Leave a Reply

